At Hackleton CEVA Primary School, PSHE and RSHE are taught through the Jigsaw scheme. Jigsaw promotes the mindful approach to PSHE, which brings together Personal, Social, Health Education, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development in a comprehensive scheme of learning. Jigsaw’s philosophy starts by building positive self-image, a sense of identity and a healthy relationship with self, and from that starting point helps children grow healthy relationships with others. Lessons focus on children’s needs and building the relationship with their class, getting to know them better as unique human beings.

Health education in Jigsaw embraces not only physical health but has a strong focus on mental health and emotional literacy throughout, and empowers children to be aware of their own thoughts and feelings and know how to manage and regulate these by using a range of techniques.

There are six Puzzles in Jigsaw that are designed to progress in sequence from the start of each academic year:

  • Term 1: Being Me in My World
  • Term 2: Celebrating Difference (including anti-bullying)
  • Term 3: Dreams and Goals
  • Term 4: Healthy Me
  • Term 5: Relationships
  • Term 6: Changing Me (including RSHE Education)

Each year, we consult with our parents regarding our curriculum content and approach to teaching RSE. Please see our policy here:


More information about our approach is available to parents in the guide below:

Jigsaw Information for Parents and Carers